Avacor® Hair Regrowth Blog

The Hair Follicle Growth Cycle

All living things go through various stages or cycles of life. While the details differ from one thing to the next, all cycles include some form of birth or creation, development or maturation, and ultimately, some sort of expiration or death. Your hair is no different. Hair loss, hair restoration, and re-growth are all impacted by the hair follicle growth cycle, so let's take a closer look at that cycle to help better understand why you lose hair, and why hair restoration products, like FDA-approved Avacor Physician's Formulation®, really do work.

The hair follicle growth cycle is broken up into three phases:

  • The Anagen phase is the hair growth phase
  • The Catagen phase is a transitional phase
  • The Telogen phase is the resting phase.

The Anagen phase lasts anywhere from two to six years. This is the stage when hair follicles produce and grow individual hairs. Hairs grow about six inches a year on average, meaning that a few months into this phase, you can have hair that is a few inches long. The Anagen phase is further broken up into six stages; basic information about each stage is below.

  • Stage 1: Cell division begins; hair growth at the microscopic level
  • Stage 2: Follicle grows downward, and surrounds cells, which continue to grow
  • Stage 3: Hair begins to take shape and melanin production begins
  • Stage 4: Cells begin pigmentation (hair color)
  • Stage 5: Hair shaft begins to sprout
  • Stage 6: Follicle is completely developed

Another interesting fact about the Anagen phase is that at any given time, about 85% of the active hair follicles on your head are in this phase. As people get older, the Anagen phase might become shorter, resulting in smaller, finer hair. This is why adults sometimes experience thinning hair, and eventually, baldness.

The Catagen phase lasts one to two weeks in most cases. During this phase, the follicle base and hair shaft continue to move upward, thought the follicle shrinks to about 16% of the normal size.

The Telogen phase lasts between one and two months. During this phase, the hair does not grow, but it remains attached to the follicle. It is sometimes referred to as the "resting phase" because the hair basically just rests, without growing or falling out (shedding). Roughly 10 to 15% of all hair is in the Telogen phase at any given time.

At the end of the Telogen phase, the follicle starts the cycle over again. The old hair from the previous cycle either falls out on its own, or is pushed out when the new hair begins to grow in the Anagen phase.

Each hair follicle is on its own unique schedule of this growth cycle. If they were all in sync, you would lose all your hair at the same time, and regrow it at the same time. Because of the varying schedules, your hair is constantly growing, shedding, and growing again, simultaneously.

When you begin treatment to regrow or rejuvenate hair growth using Avacor Physician's Formulation, it is important to be patient. Your hair will not grow back overnight. Avacor Physician's Formulation has been clinically proven to revitalize hair follicles in as little as two months. However, when hair follicles are revitalized, they must still go through the hair follicle growth cycle to begin growing new strands of hair. Specifically, once revitalization occurs, the follicles must go through at least a few months of the Anagen phase to generate new hair that is a few inches long.

Stay tuned for the next post, which will discuss shedding in more detail.

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.